Vuelta a España 2022: Sam Bennett makes it two in a row with win on stage three

Bora-Hansgrohe's Irish rider outsprints Mads Pedersen and Dan McLay in Breda, Edoardo Affini in red

Sam Bennett
(Image credit: Getty Images)

Sam Bennett sprinted to victory on stage three of the Vuelta a España to make it two in a row in the Netherlands.

The Bora-Hansgrohe rider powered past Dan McLay (Arkéa Samsic) and held off Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo) to take his second stage win at this year's race in two days.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Adam Becket
News editor

Adam is Cycling Weekly’s news editor – his greatest love is road racing but as long as he is cycling on tarmac, he's happy. Before joining Cycling Weekly he spent two years writing for Procycling, where he interviewed riders and wrote about racing. He's usually out and about on the roads of Bristol and its surrounds. Before cycling took over his professional life, he covered ecclesiastical matters at the world’s largest Anglican newspaper and politics at Business Insider. Don't ask how that is related to cycling.