Six Day cycling starts at the Olympic velodrome on Tuesday and here is your guide to the action

Last year, London played host to its first six-day event since 1980, marking a return to its spiritual home. And it’s back again for 2016 after the success of last year, with Bradley Wiggins and Mark Cavendish making their first appearance at the event.

>>> Track events get major overhaul in new UCI rule change

Back in 1878 the Islington Agricultural Hall played host to the first six day when riders attempted to complete 1,000 miles over six consecutive days – an event won by Sheffield’s William Cann.

Since then several venues in London have hosted such events, including the Westminster Aquarium, Alexandra Palace, Earls Court and Wembley Arena – which hosted the last one 36 years ago.

After a three-decade hiatus the six day returned to London in 2015, making its home at the Lee Valley Velodrome and attracting a world-class field of riders. Belgian Kenny De Ketele and Moreno De Pauw won the event on its return last beating British pair Chris Latham and Oliver Wood into second, with the winning pair out to defend their title in 2016.

In six evenings of action, riders will once again compete in the classic six day disciplines such as the Madison, Derny race, elimination races and individual time trials, as well as the Longest Lap competition for the first time.

Six Brits will be riding in the men’s competition, including the pairing of Andy Tennant and Chris Latham and Ollie Wood and Jon Dibben. But it’ll be the pairing of Madison world champions Cavendish and Wiggins that will be bringing in the crowds, with the London Six Day likely to be Wiggins’s final race in the UK.

Alongside the men’s six day competition, spectators will be able to follow a women’s omnium event on the final three days of the competition, with the likes of Olympic gold medallists Elinor Barker and Katie Archibald competing.

Then there’s also another sprinters’ competition that runs throughout the six days.

We’ll be bringing you the best of the action here at Cycling Weekly, but if you are able to get down to the Olympic Velodrome you can still pick up tickets at the London Six Day website.


Tuesday, October 25, from 18.00
Day one report and highlights: Mark Cavendish and Bradley Wiggins sit third after day one

Wednesday, October 26, from 18.00
Day two report and highlights: Sir Bradley Wiggins and Mark Cavendish up to second after day two

Thursday, October 27, from 18.00
Day three report and highlights: Bradley Wiggins just misses Derny race win (video)

Friday, October 28, from 18.15
Day four report and highlights:Belgian pair lead Wiggins and Cavendish with two days to go

Saturday, October 29, from 18.15
Day five report and highlights: Wiggins and Cavendish take the lead ahead of final day
Sunday, October 30, from 16.15
Day six report: Defending champions snatch last gasp victory from Cavendish and Wiggins


Men’s lineup

Six Day riders

1. Mark Cavendish & Sir Bradley Wiggins (GBR)
2. Kenny de Ketele & Moreno de Pauw (BEL)
3. Yoeri Havik & Wim Stroetinga (NED)
4. Leif Lampater & Marcel Kalz (GER)
5. Albert Torres & Sebastian Mora Vedri (ESP)
6. Morgan Kneisky & Benjamin Thomas (FRA)
7. Marc Hester & Jesper Morkov (DEN)
8. Andreas Muller & Andreas Graf (AUT)
9. Ollie Wood & Jon Dibben (GBR)
10. Cameron Meyer & Callum Scotson (AUS)
11. Alex Buttazzoni & Fracesco Lamon (ITA)
12. Casper Pederson & Alex Rasmussen (DEN)
13. Jens Mouris & Pim Ligthart (NED)
14. Christian Grasmann & Max Beyer (GER)
15. Tristan Marguet & Claudio Imhoff (SUI)
16. Andy Tennant & Chris Latham (GBR)

Women’s omnium riders:

1. Katie Archibald (GBR)
2. Elinor Barker (GBR)
3. Laura Basso (ITA)
4. Charlotte Becker (GER)
5. Elizabeth Bennett (GBR)
6. Verena Eberhardt (AUT)
7. Neah Evans (GBR)
8. Niki Kovacs (GBR)
9. Alina Lange (GER)
10. Jarmila Machačová (CZE)
11. Kelly Markus (NED)
12. Alžbetá Pavlendova (SVK)
13. Marit Raaijmakers (NED)
14. Sophie Lankford (GBR)
15. Anita Yvonne Stenberg (NOR)


1. Matthew Rotherham (GBR)
2. Thomas Rotherham (GBR)
3. Joachim Eielers (GER)
4. Nate Koch (USA)
5. Njisane Philip (TT)
6. Max Levy (GER)

London Six-Day live TV coverage

Day 1: 19.30 to 10.25, British Eurosport 1
Day 2: 19.30 to 10.25, British Eurosport 1
Day 3: 19.30 to 10.25, British Eurosport 1
Day 4: 19.30 to 10.25, British Eurosport 1
Day 5: 19.30 to 10.55, British Eurosport 1
Day 6: 17.00 to 20.30, British Eurosport 1