Freire takes first win for Katusha in Tour Down Under stage four

Oscar Freire wins, Tour Down Under 2012, stage four

Tour Down Under 2012 stage four photo gallery by Graham Watson>>

Oscar Freire won his first race with new team Katusha today in Tanunda, South Australia, on the fourth stage of the Tour Down Under. The three-time World Champion sprinted clear of a select group and cycling's youth: Gerald Ciolek, Mike Matthews and Edvald Boasson Hagen.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.