Cancellara outpaces Millar in Valencia time trial

Fabian Cancellara, Vuelta a Espana, stage seven ITT

David Millar finished an excellent second in the Tour of Spain's first big time trial stage in Valencia, won by Fabian Cancellara.

Millar (Garmin-Slipstream) was at the top of the leader board almost until the end of the day's racing, beating one key contender, World Time Trial Champion Bert Grabsch (Columbia-HTC) by four seconds.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.