Ciolek takes last stage, Colom wins overall in Majorca

Gerald Ciolek Tour of Majorca stage 5

After yesterday's stage win from a lone break, Spaniard Antonio Colom (Katusha) has sealed the win in the 2009 Tour of Majorca.

The final day's racing was settled in a sprint finish, won by Gerald Ciolek (Milram), with Columbia team-mates Maxime Monfort and Marcel Sieberg taking second and third.

However, no-one could touch Colom at the top of the overall standings, and the 2009 edition of the challenge race was his.

1. Gerald Ciolek (Ger)Milram 147.6km in 4-03-32

2. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Columbia

3. Marcel Sieberg (Ger) Team Columbia

4. Leonardo Duque (Col) Cofidis

5. Pablo Lastras (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne

6. Javier Benitez (Spa) Contentpolis-AMPO

7. Tom Leezer (Ned) Rabobank

8. Fabian Wegmann (Ger) Milram

9. Jerome Pineau (Fra) Quick Step

10. Kurt Hovelynck (Bel) Quick Step all at same time.

1. Antonio Colom (Spa) Katusha in 19-11-14

2. Jerome Pineau (Fra) Quick Step at 35secs

3. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Columbia

4. Sylvian Chavanel (Fra) Quick Step at same time

5. Markus Fothen (Ger) Milram at 44secs

6. Francisco Perez (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne at 45secs

7. Mikel Nieve (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi at 46secs

8. Inigo Landaluce (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi at 1-45

9. Manuel Vazquez (Spa) Contentpolis-AMPO at 1-59

10. Juan Manuel Garate (Spa) Rabobank at 2-00


Gerald Ciolek takes Milram's first win of the 2009 season


Antonio Colom wins overall


Stage four: Colom is lone winner of stage

Stage three: Bennati takes sprint win

Stage two: McEwen wins

Tour of Majorca photo gallery, by Graham Watson

Stage one: Steegmans wins

2009 Tour of Majorca preview

Thank you for reading 10 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, n exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.