Great Britain granted five berths for Rio 2016 men's road race as 61 nations qualify

Team GB will be able to field five riders in the men's road race at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games, with 61 nations announced for the race

David Millar on front, London 2012 Olympic men's road race

Cycling's governing body, the UCI, has announced the 61 countries who will be competing in the Olympic Games road race in Rio de Janeiro in August, with quotas of riders allocated to each nation.

Great Britain, along with Belgium, Colombia, Spain and Italy will be able to field the maximum five riders in the men's road race, thanks to their standings in the UCI WorldTour ranking.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Stuart Clarke is a News Associates trained journalist who has worked for the likes of the British Olympic Associate, British Rowing and the England and Wales Cricket Board, and of course Cycling Weekly. His work at Cycling Weekly has focused upon professional racing, following the World Tour races and its characters.