Greg van Avermaet takes overall lead at Tirreno with stage three win

BMC's Greg van Avermaet pips Peter Sagan and Zdenek Stybar on the line in a tight finish of stage three at Tirreno-Adriatico

Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) wins Stage 3 of the 2015 Tirreno-Adriatico from Peter Sagan (Tinkoff - Saxo), ,Zdenek Stybar (Etixx - Quick Step) and Filippo Pozzato (Lampre)

(Image credit: Watson)

Greg van Avermaet did on stage three of Tirreno-Adriatico what he failed to do at Sunday's Strade Bianche: hold off Zdenek Stybar in the final kilometre and take the win.

The BMC rider found himself battling again with the Czech as the race reached its conclusion, but whereas on Sunday the Belgian ran out of gas, this time he held his sprint to the line to pip Peter Sagan and Stybar for the victory.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1