No Wiggins for National Championship road race

Team Sky’s Rod Ellingworth has confirmed Bradley Wiggins will not ride the road race at the National Championships at the end of the month – contrary to previous reports.

Last week, two sources had told CW that Wiggins, the Team Sky leader, would take part in the championship race in Lancashire on Sunday, June 27.

Then, on Tuesday, the organisers published the start list on its website – with Wiggins the biggest name absent.

Team Sky told CW Wiggins would not ride. However, by the evening, Wiggins had been added to the list.

On Wednesday morning, Ellingworth cleared up the confusion over the issue of whether Wiggins would ride saying “100 per cent not”.

However, Mark Cavendish (HTC-Columbia), former champion David Millar (Garmin-Transitions), three Cervélo riders and seven from Team Sky have entered and are expected to be on the start line.

Wiggins will not race again until the Tour de France starts in Rotterdam on July 3. Wiggins heads to France next week with Team Sky’s race coach Rod Ellingworth to check out the important climbs of the Alps and the Pyrenees, plus the course for the final time trial in Bordeaux.

However, seven Team Sky riders have entered the Nationals, although Ben Swift and Chris Froome have both been struggling with injuries at the moment and will not race unless they are completely fit.

Kristian House, the defending champion, leads a strong Rapha Condor Sharp team and there are also large squads for the other domestic teams, such as Endura Racing, Sigma Sport Specialized, Motorpoint and Team Raleigh. A full-strength Team 100% ME – the British Cycling Academy team – will also take part.

Cavendish, Adam Blythe, Daniel Lloyd, Jeremy Hunt, Roger Hammond and Millar have all entered. And Jonny Bellis will make his comeback after an horrific scooter crash last year. Although he isn’t expecting to finish the race, just being back on his bike will be a huge step on the road to recovery.

Charly Wegelius, Blythe’s team-mate at the Belgian Omega Pharma-Lotto team, has not entered.

The 180-kilometre race takes place over 15 laps of a tough 7.5-mile circuit in the village of Barley near Nelson.

The women’s start list will be added as it is confirmed but all the big names are expected to be present. Nicole Cooke is aiming for her 11th title – her 10th in a row – but Emma Pooley will also fancy her chances on the hilly course.

Sunday, June 27
Starts: 12.30pm

Riders in italics are eligible for under-23 title

Rapha Condor Sharp
Kristian House, Matt Cronshaw, Ben Greenwood, Jonathan Tiernan-Locke, Dean Downing, Tom Southam, Graham Briggs, Chris Newton

Team Sky
Ben Swift, Russell Downing, Chris Froome, Geraint Thomas, Ian Stannard, Steve Cummings, Peter Kennaugh, Bradley Wiggins (added on Tuesday, June 8, participation TBC)

Omega Pharma
Adam Blythe

Daniel Lloyd, Jeremy Hunt, Roger Hammond

Mark Cavendish

David Millar

Saxo Bank
Jonathan Bellis

Endura Racing
James Moss, Callum Wilkinson, Rob Partridge, Rob Hayles, Ian Wilkinson, Sandy King, Gary Hand, James McCallum, Evan Oliphant, David Lines, Scott Thwaites, Ross Creber

Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta
James Sampson, Johnny McEvoy, Lee Davis, Ian Bibby, Steven Burke, Ed Clancy, Malcolm Elliott, Andrew Tennant, Peter Williams

Pendragon-Le Col-Colnago
Kieran Frend, Rhys Lloyd, Chris Opie, Jack Adams, David Clarke, Yanto Barker, Steven Lampier

Daniel Shand, Mike Cuming, Richard Handley, Dan Fleeman, Dale Appleby, Tom Barras, James Stewart, Liam Holohan

Sigma Sport-Specialized
Matthew Stephens, Simon Richardson, Kit Gilham, James Williamson, Gareth Montgomerie, Tom Murray, Tom Last, Stephen Adams, Phil Sykes

Team 100% ME
Luke Rowe, Mark Christian, Andrew Fenn, Erick Rowsell, George Atkins, Timothy Kennaugh, Christopher Whorrall, Jonathan Mould, Joseph Perrett

Orbea-For Goodness Shakes
Dean Shannon, Kristian Downs, Matt Ewings, Dan Kogan, Andy Lyons, Ben Thompson, Marcel Six, Adam Norris

Team Corley Cycles
Mark Wordsworth, Matthew Higgins, Ashley Cox, Richard Gartland, Simon Gaywood, Chris Mcnamara

Team Qoroz
Hugh Wilson, Matt Ullmer, Ben Stockdale

Team Zappi’s
Mike Wragg, Will Fox, Joe Skipper, Jack Kirk

Frezza Pasta Montegrappa
David McLean, Gareth Hewitt, Peter-Lee Jefferies

Finchley RT
Vince Divine, Andrew Hastings

GWR Team
Llewellyn Kinch, Douglas Dewey

Jack Pullar, Dillon Byrne

VC Montpellier
Lewis Cowley, Russel Falder

AW Cycles
Sam Allen

An Post
Mark McNally

ASFRA Flanders
Simon Thomas

Paul Esposti

Bicicletas Salchi-Mutienvios
Oliver Cookson

Big Maggies-Wilier-Prendas
Will Bjergfelt RT
Robert Orr

Flanders Racing
Daniel Patten

Giant Asia
Alex Coutts

Hope Factory Racing
Paul Oldham

Mid Devon CC
Joshua Hunt

New Heebra Lombarden
Andrew Griffiths

Palmeiras Resort
Tomas Swift-Metcalfe

Team Echelon-Spuik
Steven Dring

Team Goldtec
Martin Ford

Teamwallis CHH
Andy Coupe

Trek Livestrong
Alex Dowsett

UC Bergamasca-Di Nardi-Colpack
Simon Holt

Van Goethem-Prorace
Hamish Haynes

Wielerteam Van Eyck
Dominic Schils

York Cycleworks
Alistair Kay

Sunday, June 27
Starts: 8.30am
Nicole Cooke

Lizzie Armitstead, Emma Pooley, Sharon Laws

Horizon Fitness
Danielle King, Sarah Storey, Annabel Simpson, Hannah Rich, Alex Greenfield

Team 100% ME
Lucy Martin, Katie Colclough

Rapha Condor
Claire Beaumont, Tracy Corbett, Rebecca Curley, Katie Fearnehough, Angharad Mason, Natasha Perry, Rachel Przbylski, Catherine Williamson

Halesowen A & CC
Ciara Horne, Jessica Booth, Ella Hopkins

Team Zappi’s
Tamina Oliver, Claire Galloway, Naomi Anderson

Maxgear RT
Jackie Garner, Alli Holland, Louise Eden

Squadra Donne Bike Food
Iona Sewell, Gail Aspden

Moving Ladies
Emma Trott, Sarah Reynolds

Sandy Wallace Cycles
Mari Todd, Anda-Jay Burgess

Limpet Technology
Eileen Rowe, Kate Cullen

AW Cycles
Emma Grant

Avergavenny RC
Lowri Bunn

Nikki Harris

Bizhab-Konica Minolta
Catherine Williamson

Ciclos Uno
Nicola Juniper

CT M. Pinte
Charlotte Colclough

Dalbeattie Hardrock CC
Lucy Coldwell

Dysynni CC
Kara Chesworth

Edinburgh RC
Anne Ewing

Ferryhill Wheelers
Mathilde Matthysse

Eleanor Jones

High Wycombe CC
Chrissy Radon

Johnstone Wheelers
Claire MacAulay

Kona FSA Factory Team
Helen Wyman

Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta
Sarah Byrne

BC private members
Joanna Rowsell
Julia Shaw
Michelle Dillon
Claire Thomas
Teri Wishart

Redsun Ladies Team
Emma Silversides

Sigma Sport
Leona Kadir

Sprinters Malderen
Alice Monger-Godfrey

Stirling BC
Jane Barr

Team Corridori
Corrine Hall

Twickenham CC
Natalie Creswick
Leanne Thompson


British road race champions: Roll of honour

2009 men’s road race: Kristian House wins in Abergavenny

2009 women’s road race: Nicole Cooke takes her 10th title


National Championships website