Phinney takes Eneco prologue; Millar and Thomas in top 10

taylor phinney, eneco tour, bmc, prologue, winner

Taylor Phinney took his first professional victory in the prologue of the Eneco Tour in Amersfoort this afternoon, beating Sky's Edvald Boasson Hagen and David Millar (Garmin-Cervélo) by seven and eight seconds respectively.

The BMC Racing rider was the only man to post a sub-7 minute time on the technical 5.7km course, something which noted specialists Boasson Hagen, Millar, Alex Rasmussen (HTC-Highroad) and Lars Boom (Rabobank) failed to beat.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nick Bull is an NCTJ qualified journalist who has written for a range of titles, as well as being a freelance writer at Beat Media Group, which provides reports for the PA Media wire which is circulated to the likes of the BBC and Eurosport. His work at Cycling Weekly predominantly dealt with professional cycling, and he now holds a role as PR & Digital Manager at SweetSpot Group, which organises the Tour of Britain.