Alejandro Valverde chases down Adam Yates to win Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana stage four

Valverde sets up overall victory with second stage win

Alejandro Valverde wins stage four of the Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana

(Image credit: Photo Gomez Sport)

Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) timed his chase to perfection as he hunted down Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) in the final 200m of a steep summit finish of stage four of the Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana.

Yates had been in an aggressive mood on the queen stage of the race, first counter-attacking to chase down Amaro Antunes (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) with three kilometres remaining, before launching a bid for victory on the double-digit gradients of the final kilometre.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Henry Robertshaw began his time at Cycling Weekly working with the tech team, writing reviews, buying guides and appearing in videos advising on how to dress for the seasons. He later moved over to the news team, where his work focused on the professional peloton as well as legislation and provision for cycling. He's since moved his career in a new direction, with a role at the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.