Davide Ballerini eases to Omloop Het Nieuwsblad sprint victory

Jake Stewart took an impressive second-place finish

(David Stockman/BELGA MAG/AFP via Getty Images)

(Image credit: BELGA MAG/AFP via Getty Images)

Davide Ballerini continued his fine start to 2021 as he eased to victory at Omloop Het Nieuwsblad.

In the reduced bunch sprint of around 50 riders, the Italian was peerless as he was led out by team-mate Florian Sénéchal, Groupama-FDJ's Jake Stewart moving up late to snatch an impressive second as Sep Vanmarcke (Israel Start-Up Nation) had to settle for third.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Hi. I'm Cycling Weekly's Weekend Editor. I like writing offbeat features and eating too much bread when working out on the road at bike races.

Before joining Cycling Weekly I worked at The Tab and I've also written for Vice, Time Out, and worked freelance for The Telegraph (I know, but I needed the money at the time so let me live).

I also worked for ITV Cycling between 2011-2018 on their Tour de France and Vuelta a España coverage. Sometimes I'd be helping the producers make the programme and other times I'd be getting the lunches. Just in case you were wondering - Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwen had the same ham sandwich every day, it was great.