Dubai Tour opening ceremony gallery

Stars assemble for the 2015 Dubai Tour with a lavish opening ceremony

The 2015 Dubai Tour was officially opened last night with a glittering opening ceremony.

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

Mark Cavendish (Etixx-QuickStep), Vincenzo Nibali (Astana), Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha) and John Degenkolb (Giant-Alpecin) were among the 16 teams presented to spectators and luninaries including His Highness Sheikh Hasher Bin Maktoum Al Maktoum.

>>> Dubai Tour 2015 preview

Also present was Argentine football ‘legend’ Diego Maradona. Maradona presented the podium prizes at last year’s race.

The 2015 Dubai Tour kicked off on Wednesday morning with a flat 145-kilometre stage from Dubai International Marine Club to Union House Flag. The race concludes on Saturday, February 7.