Mark Cavendish wins final stage of Giro d'Italia, Nibali secure in pink

Mark Cavendish wins, Giro d'Italia 2013, stage 21

Mark Cavendish (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) won the final stage of the Giro d'Italia with a decisive sprint in Brescia. It was an unprecedented fifth stage win for the Briton and secured him the red jersey of the points classification leader. Vincenzo Nibali (Astana) finished comfortably in the bunch to win the race overall, the second grand tour of his career.

The win means Cavendish has now won the points competition in each of the three grand tours, and banishes the memory of last year when he lost out by just one point to Joaquim Rodriguez. He bookended the race with stage wins and underlined it as his most successful Giro campaign.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.