Nairo Quintana wins 2014 Giro d'Italia

Nairo Quintana becomes first Colombian to win the Giro d'Italia as Luka Mezgec wins final stage

Nairo Quintana on stage twenty-one of the 2014 Giro d'Italia

(Image credit: watson)

Nairo Quintana (Movistar) became the first Colombian rider to win the Giro d'Italia on Sunday, after staying safe in the peloton as the race concluded in Trieste.

Luka Mezgec claimed Giant-Shimano’s third stage win of the Giro ahead of Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek) and Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Sharp).

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Stephen Puddicombe is a freelance journalist for Cycling Weekly, who regularly contributes to our World Tour racing coverage with race reports, news stories, interviews and features. Outside of cycling, he also enjoys writing about film and TV - but you won't find much of that content embedded into his CW articles.