Giro Rosa 2020: Lizzy Banks takes a breakaway win in Tivoli

Banks attacked on the final steep run into the line after 85km in a two-woman breakaway

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Lizzy Banks took her second Giro stage win in as many starts in Tivoli on Monday. The British rider attacked with Eugenia Bujak (Alé-BTC Ljubljana) with just over half of the 170km stage to go, the pair working well and building a lead in excess of six minutes with around 40km to go.

The final five kilometres were all uphill, though in the closing 1500m it kicked up hard, over 10 per cent before tarmac turned to cobbles in the closing 800m, just inside the city walls. It was here that Banks attacked, dropping Bujak and beating her by seven seconds.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Owen Rogers is an experienced journalist, covering professional cycling and specialising in women's road racing. He has followed races such as the Women's Tour and Giro d'Italia Donne, live-tweeting from Women's WorldTour events as well as providing race reports, interviews, analysis and news stories. He has also worked for race teams, to provide post race reports and communications.