How to watch the Digital Swiss Five virtual races and full start list, featuring Sam Bennett and Greg Van Avermaet

The online race, running from Wednesday, includes an all-star cast

The coronavirus crisis has forced the cycling world to adapt and overcome over the last few months, which has resulted in some unexpected new events.

Cycling data company Velon, which works with a large number of WorldTour teams, has come up with an innovative new race to keep fans in touch with superstars online.

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

The Digital Swiss Five, organised by Velon and the Tour de Suisse, kicks off on Wednesday (April 22) and runs over five days, with stars like Julian Alaphilippe, Remco Evenepoel, and world champion Mads Pedersen all virtually lining up.

A total of 19 teams will race in the online event, including 16 WorldTour teams, with Team Ineos, Deceuninck – Quick-Step and Mitchelton-Scott all taking part.

Here’s the full start list and  how to watch the unique race :

Start list for race one

Ag2r La Mondiale (Fra)

Silvan Dillier
Julien Duval
Alexis Gougeard

Bahrain-McLaren (Brn)

Phil Bauhaus
Ivan Garcia Cortina
Jan Tratnik

Bora-Hansgrohe (Ger)

Lukas Pöstlberger
Martin Laas
Patrick Gamper

CCC Team (Pol)

Kamil Gradek
Greg Van Avermaet
Gjis Van Hoecke

Deceuninck – Quick-Step (Bel)

Sam Bennett
Rémi Cavagna
Michael Mørkøv

EF Pro Cycling (USA)

Mitch Docker
Moreno Hofland
Tom Scully

Groupama-FDJ (Fra)

Stefan Küng
Fabian Lienhard
Benjamin Thomas

Israel Start-Up Nation (Isr)

Alexander Cataford
Davide Cimolai
James Piccoli

Lotto-Soudal (Bel)

Frederik Frison
Brian Van Goethem
Florian Vermeersch

Mitchelton-Scott (Aus)

Michael Albasini
Michael Hepburn
Callum Scotson

Movistar (Esp)

Gabriel Cullaigh
Johan Jacobs
Jurgen Roelandts

NTT Pro Cycling (RSA)

Edvald Boasson
Hagen Rasmus Tiller
Max Walscheid

Rally Cycling (USA)

Stephen Bassett
Matteo Dal-Cin
Nickolas Zukowsky

Team Ineos (Gbr)

Filippo Ganna
Chris Lawless
Ian Stannard

Jumbo-Visma (Ned)

Pascal Eenkhoorn
Amund Grøndahl Jansen
Mike Teunissen

Sunweb (Ger)

Alberto Dainese
Nico Denz
Michael Matthews

Total Direct Energie (Fra)

Romain Cardis
Florian Maitre
Lorenzo Manzin

Trek-Segafredo (USA)

Mads Pedersen
Edward Theuns
Emils Liepiņš

Swiss National Team (SUI)

Stefan Bissegger
Claudio Imhof
Michael Schâr

How to watch

The race will be broadcast on TV in a number of nations around the world, including Belgium, France and Germany, but it will not be shown on TV in the UK.

A VPN provider like ExpressVPN can protect your privacy as well as unblock geo-locked content so you can access your home broadcaster’s coverage even when away from home. Try risk-free with a 30-day money-back trial.

But UK fans don’t need to fear, Velon and all the teams racing in the event will be broadcasting live on Facebook and Twitter (but not in the USA, Canada and Japan).

Race schedule:

Race one: Wednesday, April 22, 4.10pm – 5.20 UK time

Race two: Thursday, April 23, 4.10pm – 5.20pm UK time

Race three: Friday, April 24, 4.10 – 5.20 UK time

Race four: Saturday, April 25, 5.10pm – 6.20 UK time

Race five: Sunday, April 26, 1.10pm – 2.20pm UK time

Broadcast coverage:


Belgium, Poland, Portugal, Italy: ELEVEN Sports Network

Bosnia Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia, Slovenia: SportKlub

France and DOM-TOM: L’Équipe

Germany: ZDF

Netherlands: NOS

Switzerland: SRG


Denmark: TV2

Norway: TV2

Middle East

Israel: Sport 5


Sub-Saharan Africa: SuperSport


Japan: J-Sports

Myanmar, Taiwan: ELEVEN Sports Network

North America

USA and Canada: FloBikes


SBS Australia

New Zealand 

Sky NZ


Olympic Channel (excluding USA and Canada)

The Digital Swiss Five will use virtual training platform Rouvy and will feature climbs and courses from the real-life Tour de Suisse.