Remco Evenepoel clings on desperately to claim overall win as Ivan Sosa takes the day on stage five of Vuelta a Burgos 2020

A thrilling battle on the final climb of the race settled the general classification

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Remco Evenepoel showed his mental and physical toughness in stage five of the Vuelta a Burgos 2020, as he stuck with his rivals to secure the overall victory.

The Belgian champion fought immensely hard on the final climb of the race to Lagunas de Neila, sticking with Mikel Landa’s countless attacks to beat the Spaniard on general classification.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Alex Ballinger

Alex Ballinger is editor of BikeBiz magazine, the leading publication for the UK cycle industry, and is the former digital news editor for After gaining experience in local newsrooms, national newspapers and in digital journalism, Alex found his calling in cycling, first as a reporter, then as news editor responsible for Cycling Weekly's online news output, and now as the editor of BikeBiz. Since pro cycling first captured his heart during the 2010 Tour de France (specifically the Contador-Schleck battle) Alex covered three Tours de France, multiple editions of the Tour of Britain, and the World Championships, while both writing and video presenting for Cycling Weekly. He also specialises in fitness writing, often throwing himself into the deep end to help readers improve their own power numbers.  Away from the desk, Alex can be found racing time trials, riding BMX and mountain bikes, or exploring off-road on his gravel bike. He’s also an avid gamer, and can usually be found buried in an eclectic selection of books.