Rohan Dennis, Michael Matthews, and Amanda Spratt chosen for Australia squads at Yorkshire 2019 World Championships

Australia will post formidable teams in the men’s and women’s road races

(Image credit: Yuzuru SUNADA)

Rohan Dennis, Michael Matthews and Amanda Spratt have all been selected to represent Australia at the Yorkshire 2019 World Championships next month.

With a wealth of talent to choose from, Cycling Australia has confirmed the 20 riders who will race in the white, green and gold in three road races - the men's, women's and men's under-23.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Alex Ballinger

Alex Ballinger is editor of BikeBiz magazine, the leading publication for the UK cycle industry, and is the former digital news editor for After gaining experience in local newsrooms, national newspapers and in digital journalism, Alex found his calling in cycling, first as a reporter, then as news editor responsible for Cycling Weekly's online news output, and now as the editor of BikeBiz. Since pro cycling first captured his heart during the 2010 Tour de France (specifically the Contador-Schleck battle) Alex covered three Tours de France, multiple editions of the Tour of Britain, and the World Championships, while both writing and video presenting for Cycling Weekly. He also specialises in fitness writing, often throwing himself into the deep end to help readers improve their own power numbers.  Away from the desk, Alex can be found racing time trials, riding BMX and mountain bikes, or exploring off-road on his gravel bike. He’s also an avid gamer, and can usually be found buried in an eclectic selection of books.