Ruth Winder moves into race lead with sprint victory on stage three of the Women's Tour Down Under 2020

The American now takes a seven-second buffer into the final stage four

Ruth Winder wins stage three of the Women's Tour Down Under 2020 (Photo by Tim de Waele/Getty Images)

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Ruth Winder (Trek-Segafredo) won the sprint finish on stage three to move into the leader's jersey at the 2020 Women's Tour Down Under.

The American national road race champion saw off Liane Lippert (Sunweb) and Lauren Stephens (TIBCO-SVB) to cross the line first, picking up time bonuses and moving into the race lead, displacing Amanda Spratt (Mitchelton-Scott) who finished tenth on the stage.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Hi. I'm Cycling Weekly's Weekend Editor. I like writing offbeat features and eating too much bread when working out on the road at bike races.

Before joining Cycling Weekly I worked at The Tab and I've also written for Vice, Time Out, and worked freelance for The Telegraph (I know, but I needed the money at the time so let me live).

I also worked for ITV Cycling between 2011-2018 on their Tour de France and Vuelta a España coverage. Sometimes I'd be helping the producers make the programme and other times I'd be getting the lunches. Just in case you were wondering - Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwen had the same ham sandwich every day, it was great.