Mike Teunissen takes shock win and yellow jersey on stage one of the Tour de France 2019

Geraint Thomas was brought down in a crash in the run-in to the finish

Mike Teunissen wins stage one of the Tour de France 2019 (Photo by Marco Bertorello/Getty Images)

(Image credit: AFP/Getty Images)

Mike Teunissen (Jumbo-Visma) took a surprise stage one win and yellow jersey at the Tour de France 2019.

The Dutchman came from behind to edge out Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) on the line, with Caleb Ewan (Lotto-Soudal) in third.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Hi. I'm Cycling Weekly's Weekend Editor. I like writing offbeat features and eating too much bread when working out on the road at bike races.

Before joining Cycling Weekly I worked at The Tab and I've also written for Vice, Time Out, and worked freelance for The Telegraph (I know, but I needed the money at the time so let me live).

I also worked for ITV Cycling between 2011-2018 on their Tour de France and Vuelta a España coverage. Sometimes I'd be helping the producers make the programme and other times I'd be getting the lunches. Just in case you were wondering - Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwen had the same ham sandwich every day, it was great.