Mathieu van der Poel seals Tour of Britain overall victory with stage eight win

The young Dutchman takes the British stage race ahead of Matteo Trentin

Mathieu van der Poel wins the Tour of Britain 2019 (Photo by Stephen Pond/Getty Images)

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Mathieu van der Poel (Corendon-Circus) sealed overall victory at the 2019 Tour of Britain by sprinting to the stage eight win, edging out Cees Bol (Sunweb) and Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott) to take his third stage of the week.

The 24-year-old Dutchman went toe-to-toe with the former European champion Trentin, exchanging the race lead multiple times, before Van der Poel's two victories on the final couple of stages helped him pull clear.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Hi. I'm Cycling Weekly's Weekend Editor. I like writing offbeat features and eating too much bread when working out on the road at bike races.

Before joining Cycling Weekly I worked at The Tab and I've also written for Vice, Time Out, and worked freelance for The Telegraph (I know, but I needed the money at the time so let me live).

I also worked for ITV Cycling between 2011-2018 on their Tour de France and Vuelta a España coverage. Sometimes I'd be helping the producers make the programme and other times I'd be getting the lunches. Just in case you were wondering - Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwen had the same ham sandwich every day, it was great.