Simon Yates crowned Vuelta a España 2018 champion as Elia Viviani takes final stage

Viviani took his third stage win of the race in the final stage in Madrid

Simon Yates on the final podium of the 2018 Vuelta a España ( BENJAMIN CREMEL/AFP/Getty Images)

(Image credit: AFP/Getty Images)

Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) sealed overall victory in the Vuelta a España 2018, finishing the final stage to Madrid safely as Elia Viviani (Quick-Step Floors) sprinted to stage victory.

On a largely ceremonial start to the stage, Yates was able to enjoy celebrating with his team-mates and posing for photos on the road to the Spanish capital, knowing he only had to finish in the main group to secure his overall win.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Richard Windsor

Follow on Twitter: @richwindy

Richard is digital editor of Cycling Weekly. Joining the team in 2013, Richard became editor of the website in 2014 and coordinates site content and strategy, leading the news team in coverage of the world's biggest races and working with the tech editor to deliver comprehensive buying guides, reviews, and the latest product news.

An occasional racer, Richard spends most of his time preparing for long-distance touring rides these days, or getting out to the Surrey Hills on the weekend on his Specialized Tarmac SL6 (with an obligatory pub stop of course).