Record number of riders get Dave Rayner Funding for 2011

Fundees, Dave Rayner Dinner 2010

From a record number of 85 applicants, a record number of 36 young riders, including six women, have been selected for Dave Rayner Funding to race abroad in 2011.

That's 10 more than received funding last year, and the largest group since the fund was created in 1995, in memory of former pro Dave Rayner.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Keith Bingham joined the Cycling Weekly team in the summer of 1971, and retired in 2011. During his time, he covered numerous Tours de France, Milk Races and everything in-between. He was well known for his long-running 'Bikewatch' column, and played a pivotal role in fighting for the future of once at-threat cycling venues such as Hog Hill and Herne Hill Velodrome.