Jasper Philipsen sprints to victory at Milano-Sanremo after late attacks in the closing kilometres

The Alpecin-Deceuninck rider takes the win at the first Monument of the season

(Image credit: Getty Images)

After 288km and more than six hours of racing it was Jasper Philipsen who took the victory at Milano-Sanremo. The Alpecin-Deceuninck rider had been dropped on the Poggio, but managed to make his way back to the front of the race before winning the sprint to the line on the Via Roma.

His teammate and last year's winner Mathieu van der Poel chased down a late attack from Matteo Sobrero (Bora-Hansgrohe) and Tom Pidcock (Ineos Grenadiers) to bring the race back together in the finale.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1