Matteo Trentin sprints from the front to win Le Samyn

Italian rider triumphs out of leading group on tough day in Belgium

Matteo Trentin
(Image credit: Getty Images)

Matteo Trentin sprinted from the front of a lead group to take his first victory of the season at Le Samyn.

The UAE Team Emirates rider held his speed to beat Hugo Hofstetter (Arkéa-Samsic) and Dries De Bondt (Alpecin-Fenix) in Dour.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Adam Becket
News editor

Adam is Cycling Weekly’s news editor – his greatest love is road racing but as long as he is cycling on tarmac, he's happy. Before joining Cycling Weekly he spent two years writing for Procycling, where he interviewed riders and wrote about racing. He's usually out and about on the roads of Bristol and its surrounds. Before cycling took over his professional life, he covered ecclesiastical matters at the world’s largest Anglican newspaper and politics at Business Insider. Don't ask how that is related to cycling.