Saudi Tour 2023: Jonathan Milan snatches stage two victory in a tight final sprint

Milan was able to hold off a rampaging Dylan Groenewegen to grab the win for Bahrain Victorious

Jonathan Milan
(Image credit: Getty Images)

Jonathan Milan (Bahrain Victorious) snatched victory on stage two of the Saudi Tour 2023  from the arms of Dylan Groenewegen (Jayco AIUla) in a narrow sprint finish.

The win looked to be going the way of Groenewegen once more, but a violent late acceleration from Milan and Cees Bol (Astana Qazaqstan) caught Jayco AIUla and their Dutch sprinter unawares.

As Milan powered towards the line, Groenewegen was able to come around Bol and looked like he might catch the Bahrain Victorious rider. However, Milan had just enough to hold out for the win narrowly beating the rampaging Dutchman on the line.

Groenewegen will continue to wear the leader's jersey on tomorrow's stage three, with Milan trailing at six seconds. Cofidis's Max Walscheid is in third, 12 seconds off the lead. 


Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Tom Thewlis

Tom has been writing for Cycling Weekly since 2022 and his news stories, rider interviews and features appear both online and in the magazine. 

Since joining the team, he has reported from some of professional cycling's biggest races and events including the Tour de France and the World Championships in Glasgow. He has also covered races elsewhere across the world. 

As well as on the ground reporting, Tom writes race reports from the men's and women's WorldTour and helps with coverage of UK domestic cycling.