Peter Kennaugh and Mark Cavendish, British Road National Championships 2015

When: June 22 and 25 2017
Where: Isle of Man

A course that celebrates the Isle of Man’s cycling heritage will greet riders taking part in the 2017 British National Road Race Championships this June.

The men’s road race, the final event of the championships will this year be based around the Isle of Man, with the iconic Snaefell Mountain TT route making up the majority of the ride.

After starting in the famous TT Grandstand in Douglas, racers will head out of town and complete two laps of the route leading them through around the islands towns of Ballig and Ramsey before entering Douglas again.

The two laps (Men’s race) or one lap (Women’s race) of the Island route will then bring riders to a finishing circuit in Douglas which males competitors will complete 10 times and six for their female counterparts before finishing back in front of the TT Grandstand.

Jonny Clay, director of sport and membership for British Cycling said: “The Isle of Man is steeped in cycling history, and we are delighted to be able to announce a route for the 2017 HSBC UK | National Road Championships which incorporates some of the island’s most famous sites.

“This will not only provide a fitting nod towards the island’s sporting heritage, but will also give spectators the best possible opportunity to view what is sure to be a fantastic two days of racing.

The relatively flat nature of the route could favour the sprinters and after missing out in 2016, Peter Kennaugh will look forward to riding on his home roads and hope to make it a third national jersey in four years.

The women’s race, won last year by Hannah Barnes, will take in just the one lap of the out-of-town section before finishing with six circuits with Douglas.

As well as the two road races, the weekend of cycling will also include the men’s and women’s national time trial championships.

A 44.4km course on the island’s west coast will be lapped twice by the men and just the once by the women and u23 categories against the clock.

The races will take place between June 22 and 25.

Eurosport and ITV will have highlights from the 2017 British Cycling National Road Championships, which take place on Thursday June 22 and Sunday June 25.