Adriano Malori wins Tour de San Luis time trial

Adriano Malori wins stage, Tour de San Luis 2014, stage five

Adriano Malori and Nairo Quintana gave their Movistar team plenty to celebrate in the Tour de San Luis on Friday, respectively taking the time trial stage win and overall lead of the race in Argentina.

Malori cruised through the 19.2-kilometre loop around San Luis to take the stage win, pipping pre-stage favourite Talyor Phinney (BMC) by three seconds after the American struggled with gear troubles. Home rider Jorge Giacinti (San Luis) rounded out the day's podium in third.

Quintana placed 16th on the stage to overhaul race leader Phillip Gaimon (Garmin-Sharp) in the general classification. Quintana now leads Gaimon by 26 seconds, with Sergio Godoy (San Luis) in third at 2-01.

Saturday's penultimate stage offers up another summit finish, giving the climbers their last chance to make a mark on the race, and it's hard to see past Quintana taking the overall honours. The UCI 2.1-ranked Tour de San Luis concludes on Sunday, January 26. 


Tour de San Luis 2014, stage five: San Luis to San Luis, 19.2km (ITT)

1. Adriano Malori (Ita) Movistar in 22-11

2. Taylor Phoinney (USA) BMC Racing at 3 secs

3. Jorge Giacinti (Arg) San Luis Somos Todos at 29 secs

4. Lawrence Warbasse (USA) BMC Racing at 48 secs

5. Andrey Amador (CRc) Movistar at 52 secs

6. Manuel Quinziato (Ita) BMC Racing at 53 secs

7. Tom Boonen (Bel) Omega Pharma-QuickStep at 57 secs

8. Danilo Hondo (Ger) Trek Factory Racing at 1-02

9. Eloy Teruel (Spa) Jamis-Hagens Berman at 1-03

10. Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale at 1-05

Overall classification after stage five

1. Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar in 17-18-14

2. Phillip Gaimon (USA) Garmin-Sharp at 26 secs

3. Sergio Godoy (Arg) San Luis Somos Todos at 2-01

4. Enzo Moyano (Arg) San Luis Somos Todos at 2-17

5. Marc De Maar (Ned) Unitedhealthcare at 2-47

6. Peter Stetina (USA) BMC Racing at 2-57

7. Julian Arredondo (Col) Trek Factory Racing at 2-59

8. Eduardo Sepulveda (Arg) Bretagne-Seche Environnement at 3-13

9. Darwin Atapuma (Col) BMC Racing at 3-21

10. Miguel Rubiano (Col) Colombia at 3-30

Adriano Malori

Stage podium: Phinney, Malori and Giacinti

Nairo Quintana takes the race lead

Tour de San Luis 2014: Stage reports and news

Stage four: Quintana wins, Gaimon clings onto lead

Mark Cavendish leads out Tom Boonen in San Luis

Stage three: Nizzolo wins stage

Stage two: Arredondo wins, Gaimon keeps lead

Adam Yates makes professional debut in Tour de San Luis

Stage one: Phillip Gaimon wins opening stage of Tour de San Luis

Tour de San Luis 2014 coverage and preview

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1