Amy Pieters takes stage two of Women's Tour win from a small group

Clara Copponi inherits the overall lead after an aggressive day's racing in Walsall

Amy Pieters (SDWorx) wins stage two of the AJ Bell Women's Tour in Walsall, W Mids
(Image credit: SWPix)

Amy Pieters won the second stage of AJ Bell Women’s Tour, taking the victory from a group of 10 after a relentless day of attacking racing.

The Dutch champion found herself in a small group of 10 women who entered the final five kilometres of the race in Walsall with a lead of 50 seconds. With around 1500m to go Brit Pfeiffer Georgi (DSM) made a solo move and seemed to be on her way to victory, however, Pieters had team mate Demi Vollering in the group to close the gap.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Owen Rogers is an experienced journalist, covering professional cycling and specialising in women's road racing. He has followed races such as the Women's Tour and Giro d'Italia Donne, live-tweeting from Women's WorldTour events as well as providing race reports, interviews, analysis and news stories. He has also worked for race teams, to provide post race reports and communications.