Backstedt spearheads new UK Youth team

Magnus Backstedt, UK Youth team 2011

Paris-Roubaix and Tour de France stage winner Magnus Backstedt will spearhead the new UK Youth team, officially launched in the New Forest last weekend.

Backstedt joins Olympic Bronze medallist Steven Burke, Niklas Gustavsson, Fredrik Johansson, Gruff Lewis, David McGowan, Filip Rudenstam, Chris Seviour, James Stewart, Leo Mansell and Greg Mansell. The latter two are the sons of former Formula One world champion Nigel Mansell, president of the youth work charity that gives the team its name.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1