CW’s British Riders of 2012: No. 28-27

Cycling Weekly is revealing the top 50 2012 British Riders of the Year, counting down every day until December 19.

The top 10 will be revealed in Cycling Weekly’s Christmas issue, on sale from Thursday December 20.

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<


Paralympic pursuit champion

If anyone was expecting a bit of a comedown after the Olympic Games, the Paralympic cycling events provided more than enough drama.

Mark Colbourne , won silver in the C123 kilometre time trial on the opening day of competition but knew he had a great chance of winning the three-kilometre individual pursuit in the C1 category, which is open to athletes with the most serious disabilities.

But the day of that pursuit final was one of incredible drama in the velodrome.

Earlier, Jody Cundy had been harshly disqualified from his event, which led to resounding boos from the largely British crowd. The velodrome was an electric place to be at the best of times but the sense of injustice made for a ferocious atmosphere.

With everything that had happened, the fact Colbourne held it together to produce such a commanding win over Li Zhang Yu of China was remarkable. He also set a new world’s best time.


National time trial champion

After a couple of years with Team Sky, Alex Dowsett will ride for the Spanish Movistar team in 2013 where he will get to show off his national champion’s jersey in the time trials.

Dowsett performed well on home soil – winning the silver medal in the national road race a couple of months before winning the time trial title.

And he continued his development as a team player, work that perhaps goes unheralded by the public but which is appreciated by teams that need reliable bodies with the right attitude to working for others.

However, it was his eighth place in the time trial at the World Championships that demonstrated that Dowsett is getting to grips with the demands of racing at the top level. He finished just 42 seconds away from a podium place and just ahead of Alberto Contador.

With so many good time trial riders at Team Sky, moving to a Spanish team with few specialists at the discipline may give him the opportunity to move up to the next level.

Don’t agree with our choice of riders? You can vote for your top 10 British Riders of 2012 on the CW website. When Tweeting about our countdown or your nominees, use the #ridersoftheyear hashtag. We’ll be running your choice in a future issue.
Vote now>>

Related links

Cycling Weekly’s 2012 British riders of the year index

Riders revealed so far…
December 10: Numbers 32-29 – Sharon Laws, Liam Killeen, Neil Fachie, Rachel Atherton
December 9: Number 33 – David Stone
December 8: Number 34 – Emma Pooley
December 7: Numbers 36-35 – Nikki Harris and Russell Downing
December 6: Numbers 38-37 – Anthony Kappes and Andy Fenn
December 5: Numbers 40-39 – Josh Edmondson and Matt Bottrill
December 4: Numbers 42-41 – Luke Rowe and Michael Hutchinson
December 3: Numbers 44-43 – Sam Lowe and Jon Dibben
December 2: Numbers 46-45 – Rebecca James and Jessica Varnish 
December 1: Numbers 50-47 – Alex Peters, Kristian House, Richard Handley and Wendy Houvenaghel