Alejandro Valverde wins the 2015 Fleche Wallonne

Valverde makes it back-to-back wins at Fleche Wallonne after sprinting to victory on the Mur de Huy

22 April 2015
79th La Fleche Wallonne
1st : VALVERDE Alejandro (ESP) Movistar
Photo : Yuzuru SUNADA

(Image credit: Yuzuru SUNADA)

Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) made it back-to-back victories at Fleche Wallone after a powering away from his rivals in the last 100m of the finish on the Mur de Huy.

While there were flurries of attacks throughout the closing 50km of the race, the peloton seemed resigned to an uphill sprint when they finally reached the Mur de Huy, with no attacks forthcoming until Valverde launched his winning move.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1