British Cycling names 50 Hall of Fame heroes

British Cycling Hall of Fame logo

British Cycling has announced the fifty people who have been inducted into its inaugural Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame was created to honour those Britons involved in cycling who have made an indelible mark on the sport - be they riders, coaches, organisers or volunteers.

Hundreds of nominations were received, and a panel of experts sifted through the nominees to whittle it down to the 50 most worthy and influential figures in cycling over the past fifty years. The final 50, listed below, includes names from all facets of cycling.

The Hall of Fame judging panel consisted of Cycling Weekly editor Robert Garbutt, Guardian cycling journalist William Fotheringham, BBC commentator Hugh Porter, track world and Olympic champion Victoria Pendleton, BC president Brian Cookson and BC executive director Peter King.

"We made a conscious decision not to select elite riders who are still competing at an international level or coaches and managers at the top of their game," said Pendleton.

"We also agreed we should recognise administrators and volunteers who have been active in the sport over many years and have made a significant contribution to it during that time. There have also been several posthumous awards."

Cookson added: "The response we've had from the public for the Hall of Fame has been phenomenal and choosing just 50 individuals out of over a hundred proved very challenging.

"With such a fantastic number of nominations this year we have decided to make the Hall of Fame an annual event to enable us to recognise more recent and current cycling successes."


Pat Adams

Caroline Alexander

Brian Annable

David Baker

Sid Barras

Stuart Benstead

Chris Boardman MBE

Bill Bradley

Beryl Burton OBE

Keith Butler

Arthur Campbell MBE

Brian Cossavella

Doug Dailey MBE

Tony Doyle MBE

Ian Emmerson OBE

Malcolm Elliott

Benny Foster OBE

Tim Gould

Eileen Gray CBE

Dave Hemsley

Barry Hoban

Dale Holmes

Mandy Jones

Peter Keen OBE

Peter King CBE

Stan Kite

Phil Liggett MBE

Craig Maclean

Paul Manning MBE

John & Doreen Mallinson

Yvonne McGregor MBE

Gerry McDaid

Jason McRoy

Chas Messenger

George Millar

Robert Millar

Graeme Obree

Hugh Porter MBE

Jason Queally MBE

John Rawnsley

Brian Robinson

Alan Rushton

Tom Simpson

Eddie Soens

Colin Sturgess

Dot Tilbury MBE

Graham Webb

Les West

Sean Yates

Tony Yorke OBE

Related links

Nominations open for British Cycling Hall of Fame

Robert Garbutt's blog: Playing the fame game

Follow us on Twitter>>

IPC CW subs offer banner

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1