Dubai Tour 2015 route announced (video)

Four-stage 2015 Dubai Tour confirms route, running from February 4-7

The route of the second edition of the Dubai Tour has been officially unveiled, featuring four stages over February 4-7.

In October, the Middle East race was upgraded by the sport’s governing body, the UCI, from a 2.1 to a 2.HC event – the highest rank outside the top-tier WorldTour. This means that it can now accommodate more WorldTour teams on its start list.

>> Struggling to get to the shops? Try 6 issues of Cycling Weekly magazine for just £6 delivered to your door <<

The inaugural event in February was won by BMC Racing’s Taylor Phinney, although there is some doubt as to whether Phinney will have recovered from his severe leg injury sustained at the 2014 US Pro Championship to defend his title. Marcel Kittel (Giant-Shimano) won all three sprint stages.

The four stages of the 2015 race start at the Dubai International Marine Club (DIMC), with the longest day falling on stage three at 205 kilometres.

The race is organised by Giro d’Italia organiser RCS Sport in partnership with the Dubai Sports Council.

Dubai Tour 2015

Stage 1 – February 4 – Union Flag Stage (DIMC-Union Flag House), 145km
Stage 2 – February 5 – Palm Stage (DIMC-Palm Jumeirah), 185km
Stage 3 – February 6 – Desert Stage (DIMC-Hatta Dam), 205km
Stage 4 – February 7 – Burj Stage (DIMC-Burj Plaza), 128km

Dubai Tour 2014 opening ceremony

The opening ceremony of the 2014 Dubai Tour

More on the Dubai Tour