Laura and Jason Kenny are bookies' favourite cyclists for BBC Sports Personality of the Year

The annual BBC Sports Personality of the Year award is rapidly approaching – we take a look at who the bookmakers are tipping for the coveted and sometimes controversial award

Jason Kenny and Laura Trott, Rio 2016 Olympic Games (Watson)

(Image credit: Watson)

Laura Kenny (née Trott) and Jason Kenny are the cycling front-runners for the 2016 BBC Sports Personality of the Year award.

Laura Kenny became Britain's most decorated female Olympian in history at the Rio Games, taking her third and fourth gold medals in the omnium and team pursuit on the track.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.