David Millar and Geraint Thomas will hope to put the trials and tribulations of the Tour de France behind them when they return to the UK to contest the National Road Championships this Sunday (August 5).

Continental pros Millar (Saunier Duval) and Thomas (Barloworld) are the top bets in a classy field to win the red, white and blue jersey, which will be contested in the Grand Prix of Wales around Abergavenny. The race will be run off as a double-header after the original National Championships, due to be held in East Yorkshire last month, were called off due to flooding.

The Grand Prix is the culmination of a whole weekend of events around the Monmouthshire town, which starts on Friday evening with a round of the National Elite Circuit Series, with a regional supporting race at 7pm followed by the elite riders at 7.45pm.

The following day there are several charity rides of differing difficulty, ranging from 25 to 100 miles. The longest of the three rides features the famous 1,500-foot climb over The Tumble between Blaenavon and Abergavenny.

The 25-mile route is mainly on flat roads near Abergavenny itself, but takes in the towns of Usk and Raglan, while the 50-mile ride takes in Monmouth via Necastle, Grosmont and Cross Ash.

Bill Owen, the organiser of the whole weekend, said: ?It?s wonderful for the Grand Prix of Wales to come back to Abergavenny after 11 years and we hope that everyone enjoys the sportive event on Saturday, which we hope will help to get new and returning cyclists on their bikes.

?Having someone like Welshman Geraint Thomas in the Tour de France ? and with him riding on Sunday ? is sure to encourage more people to come along.?

Hamish Haynes (Team DFL-Cyclingnews-Litespeed) wears number one as defending National Champion.


1 Hamish Haynes (Team DFL-Cyclingnews-Litespeed)

2 Evan Oliphant (Team DFL-Cyclingnews-Litespeed)

3 Daniel Fleeman (Team DFL-Cyclingnews-Litespeed)

4 Daniel Lloyd Team (DFL-Cyclingnews-Litespeed)

5 Chris Newton (

6 Shaun Snodden (

7 Graham Briggs (

8 Ryan Bonser (

9 Adam Bonser (

10 Tom Diggle (

11 Simon Holt (

12 Matt Rowe (

14 Mike Harrison (Sigmasport RT-Specialized)

15 Matthew Stephens (Sigmasport RT-Specialized)

16 Daniel Duguid (Sigmasport RT-Specialized)

17 Tom Kirk (Team Corley Cycles/Willen Hospice/Trek)

18 Richard Cartland (Team Corley Cycles/Willen Hospice/Trek)

19 Matthew Higgins (Team Corley Cycles/Willen Hospice/Trek)

20 Tim Elverson (VC Meudon-Excel/Cycle Kingdom)

21 John Wager (VC Meudon-3D Leisure/Amtec)

22 Dave Coulson (JE James Racing Team)

23 Mark Wordsworth (JE James Racing Team)

24 Hugh Wilson (Team Forza)

25 Colin Parry (Royal Dean Forest CC)

26 Robert Gouch (Johns Bikes RT)

27 Neil Jones (Gateway Racing Team)

28 Robbie Powell (Gateway Racing Team)

29 Robin Sharman (KFS Special Vehicles/Sunday Bicycles)

30 Dafydd Dylan (KFS Special Vehicles/Sunday Bicycles)

31 Gary Hand (KFS Special Vehicles/Sunday Bicycles)

32 Gareth Hewitt (KFS Special Vehicles/Sunday Bicycles)

33 Greg Roche (KFS Special Vehicles/Sunday Bicycles)

34 James Stewart (KFS Special Vehicles/Sunday Bicycles)

35 Mark Perry (Bournemouth Arrow CC-Hotel Collingwood)

36 Adrian Bird (

37 Ben Anstie (Chippenham Wheelers)

38 James Williamson (Wills Wheels CC/Tyco)

39 Jeremy Ponting (Ride Venture)

40 Koss Jeroen Kers (Ruiter Dakkapellen Wielerteam)

41 Dennis Leliveld (Ruiter Dakkapellen Wielerteam)

42 Patrick Kos (Ruiter Dakkapellen Wielerteam)

43 Germ v.d. Burg (Ruiter Dakkapellen Wielerteam)

44 Jody Tesselaar (Ruiter Dakkapellen Wielerteam)

45 Arno v.d. Zwet (Ruiter Dakkapellen Wielerteam)

46 Michael Gardener (Heroncycles RT)

47 Matthew Kipling (Inkland Mts Cyclsport RT)

48 Grant Leavy (Goldtec/Sportsage)

49 Tom Barras (Merlin Racing Team)

50 Tom Smith (Merlin Racing Team)

51 Liam Holoham (Merlin Racing Team)

52 Jon Mozley (Merlin Racing Team)

53 Stephen Adams (Merlin Racing Team)

54 Jon-Kris Mason (Merlin Racing Team)

55 Henry Furniss (Bike & Run London/Maximuscle)

56 Ben Pochee (Bike & Run London/Maximuscle)

57 Malcolm Elliott (Pinarello RT/Rudy Project)

58 Kevin Dawson (Pinarello RT/Rudy Project)

59 Andy Roche (Pinarello RT/Rudy Project)

60 Lee Davis (Pinarello RT/Rudy Project)

61 Andy Collis (Pinarello RT/Rudy Project)

62 Alastair Kay (York Cycleworks)

63 Neil Swithenbank (ABC Centreville Manchester)

64 Giles Croft (Swansea Wheelers)

65 Wouter Sybrandy (

66 Robert Hayles (Team KLR/Parker International)

67 Peter Hey (West Pennine)

68 David Clarke (Private Member)

69 Grant Bayton (GWR Team)

70 Ian Sutcliffe (Abergavenny RC/Gov.Garage/Bikebase/NickLane)

71 Richard Sykes Popham (Glendene CC/Bike Trax)

72 Ben Thompson (Glendene CC/Bike Trax)

73 Mike Dempster (Glendene CC/Bike Trax)

74 Tom Last (Evans Cycles)

75 Kit Gilham (Clifton CC/Cycle Heaven)

76 Tony Gray (Team Quest/The Bike Shop)

77 Pete Williams (Kinesis UK)

78 James Sampson (Kinesis UK)

79 Tom Murray (Kinesis UK)

80 Mark Thwaites (Kinesis UK)

81 James Taylor (Plowman Craven-Evans Cycles RT)

82 Simon Gaywood (Plowman Craven-Evans Cycles RT)

83 James Millard (Plowman Craven-Evans Cycles RT)

84 Gordon McCauley (Plowman Craven-Evans Cycles RT)

85 James McCallum (Plowman Craven-Evans Cycles RT)

86 Frederik Johansson (Plowman Craven-Evans Cycles RT)

87 Jason Allen (Plowman Craven-Evans Cycles RT)

88 Brian Biggs (Plowman Craven-Evans Cycles RT)

89 Adam Norris (Plowman Craven-Evans Cycles RT)

90 Kevin Barclay (Plowman Craven-Evans Cycles RT)

91 Simon Baxter (Adept Precision Racing TeamAutoweld Centre)

92 Daniel Shand (BW Heist Zuiderkempen.BE)

93 Danny Axford (Arctic Shorter Rochford RT)

94 Peter Bissell (Arctic Shorter Rochford RT)

95 Simon Wilson (Arctic Shorter Rochford RT)

96 Richard Bradley (Arctic Shorter Rochford RT)

97 David Mclean (Heron Cyclesport/Herongate/PixelWork/Schwalbe)

98 Andy Lyons (Heron Cyclesport/Herongate/PixelWork/Schwalbe)

99 Dean Shannon (Heron Cyclesport/Herongate/PixelWork/Schwalbe)

100 Joe Skipper (Velo Club Baracchi)

101 Adam Biggs (US Montuban)

102 Andrew Bye (Kingston Wheelers/OTM Brand/Evans/Telford Ltd)

103 Marcin Bialoblocki (Middridge CRT)

104 Richard Kent (Science in Sport/TrekUse/Club Santa/Look/Cont)

105 Matt Cronshaw (Science in Sport/TrekUse/Club Santa/Look/Cont)

106 Ben Simmons (Lifeforce Creation HB/Lifeforce)

107 Russell Downing (Health net-maxxis)

108 Dean Downing (Rapha Condor)

109 Alex Higham (Rapha Condor)

110 Ross Muir (Rapha Condor)

111 Ben Price (Rapha Condor)

112 Matt Talbot (Rapha Condor)

113 Richard Wilkinson (Rapha Condor)

114 Alex Coutts (Babes Only Villapark Lingemeer Flanders)

115 Jeremy Hunt (Unibet)

116 David Millar (Saunier Duval-Prodir)

117 Neal Craig (Forza Cycles)

118 Russ White (Forza Cycles)

119 David Bees (Forza Cycles)

120 Mark Lovatt (Sportscover-Planet X)

121 James Moss (Inkland MTS)

122 Simon Richardson (Trek)

123 Geraint Thomas (Barloworld)

124 Martin Ford (BC PM)


British Cycling:

Abergavenny Cycling Fesival site: