RideLondon-Surrey Classic 2015 preview

A look ahead to the 2015 edition of the Prudential RideLondon-Surrey Classic road race on Sunday, August 2: route, teams, TV guide, past winners

The third edition of London 2012 Olympic Legacy event, the RideLondon-Surrey Classic, takes place on Sunday, August 2.

A challenging route takes in large chunks of the original Olympic road race route, heading out from central London and south into the testing Surrey Hills and back into the capital for 200 kilometres of racing.

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

The race takes place directly after around 30,000 riders have taken part in the morning’s sportive – and both sportivistes and racers alike will be hoping for better weather than last year’s torrential downpours.

Classics riders will relish the central section of steep hills up and down the chalk slopes of the North Downs, which this year includes one loop around Leith Hill, three loops of a circuit of Ranmore Common and Dorking, and an ascent of the iconic Box Hill.

Philippe Gilbert leads an escape in the 2014 London-Surrey Classic

Philippe Gilbert leads an escape in the 2014 London-Surrey Classic

Box Hill provides the final launchpad for an attack before a steady descent into London.

Last year, Adam Blythe (NFTO) surprised the big names to snatch victory on the Mall from his three escape companions: Ben Swift (Sky), Julian Alaphilippe (Etixx-QuickStep) and Philippe Gilbert (BMC). Blythe’s move no doubt assisted in him being signed to Orica-GreenEdge for 2015.

Six WorldTour-level teams are among the 24 squads lining up for the race, with defending champion Adam Blythe, Mark Cavendish, Tom Boonen, Rohan Dennis, André Greipel and Ben Swift all on the provisional start list. They will be up against a mixture of Pro Continental and Continental-level teams, as well as a Great Britain national squad. Sir Bradley Wiggins is mooted to be part of Team Wiggins’s line-up.

>>> RideLondon-Surrey sportive and road race: Where to watch

RideLondon-Surrey Classic 2015: Route

When: Sunday, August 2
Start: Horse Guards Parade, London
Finish: The Mall, London
Distance: 200km
UCI ranking: EuropeTour 1.HC

RideLondon-Surrey Classic road race 2015 route map

RideLondon-Surrey Classic road race 2015 route map

RideLondon-Surrey Classic 2015: Teams

UCI WorldTour Teams
Orica-GreenEdge (Aus)
Etixx–QuickStep (Bel)
BMC Racing Team (USA)
Lotto-Soudal (Bel)
Team Sky (GBr)
Team LottoNL-Jumbo (Ned)

Pro Continental Teams
MTN-Qhubeka (RSA)
Bora-Argon 18 (Ger)
Nippo-Vini Fantini (Ita)
Drapac Professional Cycling (Aut)
Cult Energy Pro Cycling (Den)
CCC Sprandi Polkowice (Pol)
Roompot Oranje Peloton (Ned)
Wanty-Groupe Gobert (Bel)
Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec (Ita)suspended from competition
Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise (Bel)

UCI Continental Teams
AN Post Chainreaction (Irl)
Team Raleigh GAC (GBr)
Team JLT Condor presented by Mavic (GBr)
Madison Genesis (GBr)
ONE Pro Cycling (GBr)
NFTO Pro Cycling (GBr)
Team Wiggins (GBr)

National Cycling Team
Great Britain Cycling Team (GBr)

RideLondon-Surrey Classic 2015: TV guide

The BBC and British Eurosport will be showing live coverage of RideLondon events.

Saturday, August 1
6.00-7.00pm: RideLondon Grand Prix, BBC Two
6.00-7.00pm: RideLondon Grand Prix, British Eurosport

Sunday, August 2
10.00-10.30am: RideLondon-Surrey 100 sportive, BBC Two
2.20-7.00pm: RideLondon-Surrey Classic road race, British Eurosport
3.00-6.30pm: RideLondon-Surrey Classic road race, BBC One


Adam Blythe wins the 2014 RideLondon-Surrey Classic on The Mall

Adam Blythe wins the 2014 RideLondon-Surrey Classic on The Mall

RideLondon-Surrey Classic: Past winners

2014: Adam Blythe (Great Britain)
2013: Arnaud Demare (France)

RideLondon-Surrey Classic: Last year’s top 10 (2014)

1. Adam Blythe (GBr) NFTO
2. Ben Swift (GBr) Sky at same time
3. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Omega Pharma–QuickStep at same time
4. Philippe Gilbert (Bel) BMC at same time
5. Kristijan Koren (Slo) Cannondale +0:03
6. Sam Bennett (Ire) NetApp-Endura +0:12
7. Loic Vliegen (Bel) BMC +0:13
8. Stef Clement (Ned) Belkin +0:13
9. Elia Viviani (Ita) Cannondale +0:31
10. Russell Downing (GBr) NFTO +0:31

Video: Best of the 2015 Tour de France