Mark Cavendish Alexander Serov Tour of Britain 2007 st5

Alexander Serov (Tinkoff) attacked breakaway companion Mark Cavendish (T-Mobile) on today's stage of the Tour of Britain to create a stunning solo win on the tough uphill finish in Kendal.

Earlier in the stage, Serov and Cavendish had broken free of a ten-man group that had struck out from the bunch only three miles from the start in Liverpool. In the closing miles of the race, Serov proved too strong for Cavendish on the hills, leaving the T-Mobile man to the mercy of the chasing bunch.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.