Lorena Wiebes loses sprint train but still powers to stage four victory at Women's Tour 2021

The 11th victory of the year for the dominant sprinter

Lorena Wiebes wins stage four of the 2021 Women's Tour
Lorena Wiebes wins stage four of the 2021 Women's Tour
(Image credit: Justin Setterfield/Getty Images)

Lorena Wiebes won her 11th race of the year, taking stage four of the AJ Bell Women’s Tour in Southend on Thursday.

Despite losing her DSM sprint train in the closing kilometres, the former Dutch road champion surfed the wheels to cross the line ahead of Italian Chiara Consonni (Valcar Travel and Service) and Chloe Hosking (Trek-Segafredo) in the bunch dash for the line.  

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Owen Rogers is an experienced journalist, covering professional cycling and specialising in women's road racing. He has followed races such as the Women's Tour and Giro d'Italia Donne, live-tweeting from Women's WorldTour events as well as providing race reports, interviews, analysis and news stories. He has also worked for race teams, to provide post race reports and communications.