Mark Cavendish takes fourth stage win of 2013 Giro d'Italia

Mark Cavendish wins stage 13, Giro d'Italia 2013

Mark Cavendish became the first rider since Alessandro Petacchi in 2005 to win four stages in one Giro d'Italia, as he sprinted to his 101st victory since turning professional in Cherasco this afternoon.

Cavendish quickly sought refuge on the roadside after this victory, as the combination of the race's longest stage and a frantic finish took their toll.

Unlike yesterday's victory in Treviso, he had to fend for himself in the closing part of the stage. His Omega Pharma-Quick Step team had ridden the perfect race until they reached a small climb around seven kilometres from the line. 

The Manxman made it over the top of the slight ascent in a good position, but it left him having to latch onto the Orica-GreenEdge and Cannondale lead-out trains.

However, a frantic pace in the peloton meant that the last of the day's escapees, Katusha's Giampaolo Caruso, was caught with 1.5km remaining.

Attempting to set up Elia Viviani for the victory, Cannondale came to the front in the final 600 metres, but Cavendish was unbeatable once he had launched his sprint on the right-hand side of the road.

This was his fourth victory in this year's Giro - his best-ever performance in the race - and the win means he becomes only the third rider to win at least 14 stages in two different Grand Tours after Petacchi and Eddy Merckx.

Ahead of tomorrow's mountain-top finish at Bardonecchia, the GC favourites - now without Bradley Wiggins and Ryder Hesjedal, who did not start the stage -  enjoyed a quiet day. The sole action was a short-lived attack by Benat Inxausti (Movistar), which was immediately shut down by race leader Vincenzo Nibali.


Giro d'Italia 2013, stage 13: Busseto to Cherasco, 254km

1. Mark Cavendish (Omega Pharma-Quickstep) in 6-09-55

2. Giacomo Nizzolo (RadioShack-Leopard)

3. Luka Mezgec (Argos-Shimano)

4. Brett Lancaster (Orica-GreenEdge)

5. Elia Viviani (Cannondale)

6. Manuel Belletti (Ag2r-La Mondiale)

7. Daniele Bennati (Saxo-Tinkoff)

8. Filippo Pozzato (Lampre-Merida)

9. Anthony Roux (FDJ)

10. Miguel Angel Rubiano (Androni-Giocattoli) all at s.t.

Overall classification after stage 12

1. Vincenzo Nibali (Astana) in 52-38-09

2. Cadel Evans (BMC) at 41 secs

3. Rigoberto Uran (Sky) at 2-04

4. Robert Gesink (Blanco) at 2-12

5. Michele Scarponi (Lampre-Merida) at 2-13

6. Mauro Santambrogio (Vini Fantini-Selle Italia) at 2-55

7. Przemyslaw Niemiec (Lampre-Merida) at 3-35

8. Benat Inxausti (Movistar) at 4-05

9. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ag2r-La Mondiale) at 4-17

10. Rafal Majka (Saxo-Tinkoff) at 4-21

Giro d'Italia 2013: Previews and race info

Giro d'Italia 2013: Coverage index

Giro d'Italia 2013: British TV schedule

Giro 2013: 10 things you need to know

Giro d'Italia 2013: The Big Preview

Giro d'Italia 2013: Stage reports

Stage 11: Navardauskas wins solo as favourites enjoy day off

Stage 10: Uran wins as Wiggins and Hesjedal lose time

Stage nine: Belkov takes solo win as Wiggins put under pressure

Stage eight: Dowsett wins as Nibali takes race lead

Stage seven: Wiggins crashes as Hansen wins

Stage six: Cavendish wins stage six of Giro

Stage five: Degenkolb avoids crash to take win

Stage four: Battaglin sprints to first Giro stage win

Stage three: Paolini takes charge

Stage two: Sky wins team time trial

Stage one: Cavendish wins opener

Giro d'Italia 2013: Photo galleries

Photos by Graham Watson

Stage 11 gallery

Stage 10 gallery

Stage nine gallery

Stage eight gallery

Stage seven gallery

Stage six gallery

Stage five gallery

Stage four gallery

Stage three gallery

Stage two gallery

Stage one gallery

Team presentation gallery

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1