Amanda Spratt escapes to solo win on Giro Rosa stage six summit finish

The Mitchelton-Scott rider moves into the race lead

Amanda Spratt wins Giro Rosa stage six. Image: Giro Rosa

Amanda Spratt wins Giro Rosa stage six. Image: Giro Rosa

(Image credit: Picasa)

Amanda Spratt (Mitchelton-Scott) won stage six of the Giro Rosa after the breaking away on the 15 kilometre climb towards the summit finish.

The Australian rider attacked with 4km left of the stage and crossed the line 29 seconds ahead of her team mate, Annemiek van Vleuten, to take the maglia rosa - becoming the first rider outside of Team Sunweb to take the honours in the 2018 event.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Michelle Arthurs-Brennan

Michelle Arthurs-Brennan the Editor of Cycling Weekly website. An NCTJ qualified traditional journalist by trade, Michelle began her career working for local newspapers. She's worked within the cycling industry since 2012, and joined the Cycling Weekly team in 2017, having previously been Editor at Total Women's Cycling. Prior to welcoming her daughter in 2022, Michelle raced on the road, track, and in time trials, and still rides as much as she can - albeit a fair proportion indoors, for now.