André Greipel, Tom Boonen and Dan McLay confirmed for RideLondon-Surrey Classic

British one-day race, the RideLondon-Surrey Classic, attracts strong start list including leading international sprinters

German sprinter André Greipel (Lotto-Soudal), Belgian Classics star Tom Boonen (Etixx-QuickStep) and exciting British prospect Dan McLay (Great Britain) will all take part in the 2016 edition of the Prudential RideLondon-Surrey Classic on Sunday, July 31.

Both Greipel and McLay are currently riding in the Tour de France and will take part in the RideLondon-Surrey Classic just one week after the Tour finishes in Paris.

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

McLay will swap his usual Fortuneo-Vital Concept team colours for Great Britain kit as he joins current British time trial champion Alex Dowsett and road race champion Adam Blythe on a composite national team. Blythe won the race in 2014.

>>> Dan McLay: I wasn’t so far off in Tour de France, a win has to be possible

Defending 2015 champion Jean-Pierre Drucker (BMC) will wear the number one bib, and will be supported by team-mates Daniel Oss and Marcus Burghardt, among others. BMC are one of seven WorldTour teams taking part in the event.

7 July 2016 103rd Tour de France Stage 06 : Arpajon-sur-Cere - Montauban 2nd : McLAY Daniel (GBR) Fortuneo - Vital Concept Photo : Yuzuru SUNADA

Tour de France sprint revelation Dan McLay will take part in the RideLondon-Surrey Classic. Photo : Yuzuru Sunada

Other confirmed riders include Michael Matthews, Matt Hayman (both Orica-BikeExchange), Niki Terpstra (Etixx-QuickStep) and 2015 Tour of Britain winner Dylan van Baarle (Cannondale-Drapac).

“This is the strongest field we have ever assembled for the Prudential RideLondon-Surrey Classic,” said race director Mick Bennett.

“We are delighted to welcome Jean-Pierre Drucker back as defending champion and we have a stellar list of names who will be vying to take the title away from him.

Watch: André Greipel – show us your scars

“If it comes down to a sprint on The Mall, André Griepel is sure to be one of the men to beat but the thrilling emergence of our own Dan McLay at this year’s Tour de France shows he is more than capable of recording a win on home roads.

“Tom Boonen, one of the greatest riders of his era, is coming to London with a powerful Etixx-QuickStep team. And 2014 champion Adam Blythe, now the new Great Britain national champion, is back and looking to become the first to win this race twice. Adam showed his form by beating Mark Cavendish in a sprint to win the national title last month and he will be full of confidence.

“All the ingredients are in place to ensure this race once again lives up to its Classic name.”

Pudential RideLondon-Surrey Classic 2016 profile

Pudential RideLondon-Surrey Classic 2016 profile

The 200km (125-mile) race starts from Horse Guards Parade in central London before heading south into the Surrey Hills, including ascents of Leith Hill and Box Hill, and five laps of a circuit around Dorking. The finish will be along The Mall in front of Buckingham Palace.

The race will be broadcast live by BBC television.

Jean Piere Drucker of BMC Racing team crosses the line to win the Prudential RideLondon-Surrey Classic

Jean Pierre Drucker won the 2015 Prudential RideLondon-Surrey Classic

Prudential RideLondon-Surrey Classic 2016 teams

Team Sky (Great Britain)
Etixx-QuickStep (Belgium)
Lotto-Soudal (Belgium)
Cannondale-Drapac (USA)
Orica-BikeExchange (Australia)
Dimension Data (South Africa)
Topsport Vlaanderen (Belgium)
CCC Sprandi-Polkowice (Poland)
Team Roth (Switzerland)
Caja Rural-Seguros RGA (Spain)
One Pro Cycling (Great Britain)
Bardiani-CSF (Italy)
Wanty-Groupe Gobert (Belgium)
Roompot Oranje Peloton (Netherlands)
Direct Energie (France)
JLT Condor (Great Britain)
NFTO (Great Britain)
Madison Genesis (Great Britain)
Team Raleigh GAC (Great Britain)
Team Wiggins (Great Britain)
Pedal Heaven (Great Britain)
An Post-Chain Reaction (Ireland)
Great Britain national team