Bauke Mollema wins Vuelta a San Juan as Max Richeze takes final stage with late attack

Dutchman holds off aggressive racing from Vincenzo Nibali to take overall victory

Maximiliano Richeze wins stage seven of the 2017 Vuelta de San Juan (Picture: Watson)

(Image credit: Watson)

Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo) took overall victory in the Vuelta a San Juan after an aggressive final day of racing in Argentina.

Moles went into the final stage with a 14-second lead over Oscar Sevilla (Medellin-Inder), but his main threat came from Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) who made his way into the day's break in an effort to overcome a 1-17 deficit.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Henry Robertshaw began his time at Cycling Weekly working with the tech team, writing reviews, buying guides and appearing in videos advising on how to dress for the seasons. He later moved over to the news team, where his work focused on the professional peloton as well as legislation and provision for cycling. He's since moved his career in a new direction, with a role at the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.