British National Road Championships 2019 route: all you need to know

Full details of the 2019 Nationals, held from June 27-30

The British Road Championships take place on Thursday June 27 and Sunday June 30, with the time trial featuring in the week and the road races on the weekend.

Both events will take place in Norfolk, amongst a festival of cycling which includes a mass participation sportive and entertainment for all the family.

Discussing the choice of host, British Cycling’s Commercial Director Jonathan Rigby said: “The HSBC UK National Road Championships represent the pinnacle of our domestic road calendar, so we’re delighted that the Great British Cycling Festival will offer so many opportunities for the people of Norfolk and beyond to get involved in our fantastic sport.”

>>> British National 2019 road race start list

>>> British National 2019 time trial start list

>>> British National 2019 TV guide

British National Road Race Championships 2019 route

The road races start and finish in Norwich city centre, with the men covering 125.2 miles and the women 83.5.

The routes head north out of the city centre, via Wroxham, Cromer and Wells next to the Sea. The men’s parcours then loops through Holkham Hall, making up the extra distance, before passing the Norfolk coastline and travelling back via Foulsham.

The men’s route covers around 2,680 feet of elevation, with some lumps along the way and an uphill finish – you can see the GPX file here. 

British Cycling Road National Championships route 2019

The women’s race comprises of just under 1,800 feet of climbing, sharing the same finish – the GPX route is here. 

The men’s race kicks off at 9am, with the women’s at 2.30pm, and both of the road races will be streamed via the British Cycling Youtube channel on Sunday.

Reigning champion, Connor Swift (Team Arkea-Samsic), is back to defend his title – but he faces competition from 2016 champion Adam Blythe (Lotto Soudal), 2013 winner and former world champion Mark Cavendish (Team Dimension Data) plus 2012 national champion Ian Stannard.

The women’s field lacks both Roberts and four time winner Lizzie Deignan, with the only previous victor in the field being Hannah Barnes (Canyon-SRAM).

Sister Alice Barnes (Canyon-SRAM) will be vying for position, alongside 2018 third place, Ellie Dickinson (Drops), Lizzie Banks and Norfolk local Sophie Wright (both Bigla), national circuit race champion Anna Henderson (Brother UK Tifosi – p/b OnForm), plus Olympic champions Elinor Barker (Drops) and Katie Archibald (Team HUUB).

 British National Road Race Championships 2019 route

British National Time Trial Championships 2019 route

Thursday’s time trials look to unseat existing national champions – Barnes and Geraint Thomas.

The routes both start from the Norfolk retreat of the Queen: the Sandringham Estate. The men will ride 1.5 loops, covering 25.9 miles, with just under 1,000 ft of climbing – see the GPX route here. 

The women and under 23s complete one 17 mile lap, out to Docking, with 638ft climbed – see the GPX here. 

British National Time Trial Championships 2019 route

In the men’s race, last year’s second placed rider, Harry Tanfield (Katusha-Alpecin) will be back in pursuit of the top step. His trade team companion and five-time winner Alex Dowsett – who placed third last year behind Thomas, also makes a return.

Winner in 2017, Steve Cummings (Team Dimension Data) is also down to ride, alongside Team Ineos’ Ian Stannard and Owain Doull.

British National Time Trial Championships 2019 route

In the women’s race, reigning champion Barnes is returning to defend her title, with second placed Alice Barnes (both Canyon-SRAM) also back, alongside 2108 bronze medallist Neah Evans (Team HUUB) plus 2015 and 2016 champion Hayley Simmonds (BTC City Ljubljana).

The field is also bolstered by decorated Paralympian Dame Sarah Storey (Storey Racing) plus Olympic track champion and 2017 bronze medallist Katie Archibald (Team HUUB).

You can catch the time trials live, on British Cycling’s Facebook page. 

The under 23 men are off first, at 10am. Then at 12.20, the elite women set off, with the elite men at 3.31pm and the under 23 women waiting it out until 5.55pm.

Upcoming events