UK time trial round-up

Time trial action from across the UK

Team Swift’s Andy Jackson clocked an impressive 18-16 on a windy afternoon on the V718 course in East Yorkshire, taking the win by 27 seconds against a quality field.

David Crawley (Fibrax-Wrexham RC) was second with 18-43, while Alex Royle (Army CU) completed the podium with 19-11 for third, just two seconds faster than Daniel Barnett (

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

There were also sub 20-minute times in the Ratae RC 10 at Six Hills in Leicestershire, where National 25 and 50 Champion Matt Bottrill ( won with 19-16, just eight seconds away from the course record.

Matt Sinclair (Lutterworth Cycle Centre) was second with 19-49, while James Perkins (Zenith CC) clocked 20-22 for third.

Daniel Bloy (Team VeloVelocity) won the King’s Lynn CC 25 at Fincham in Norfolk on Saturday. He covered the B25/33 course in 55-36 to win by 41 seconds from Godric CC’s James Trenchard, while veteran Angus Jardine (Ipswich BC) was third, another 1-35 off the pace.

The promoting club’s Myles Higby was the top junior, the 17-year-old clocking 1-05-16, while veteran Catherine Essex (North Norfolk Wheelers) was fastest female with 1-05-35.

And in Hampshire, husband and wife duo Lesley and Steve Walkling (VC St Raphael) won the Bournemouth and District WCA two-up 10 at North Kingston. They stopped the clock in 22-19 to win by 42 seconds from North Hampshire RC pair Mandy Hibberd and Jonathan Hobby. Composite pair Lili McLean (Andover Wheelers) and Mitchell Webber (Pedal Heaven-Colbournes) took third.

In Bedfordshire, the promoting club’s Simon Norman was quickest in the Bedfordshire Road CC 25 at Tempsford. He clocked 53-40 to win by 50 seconds from Dave Lazenby (Silverstone Cycles), with CC Ashwell’s Jason Stuart took third with exactly 56 minutes.

Fastest woman – and sixth fastest overall – was Mathilde Matthijsse (Bonita Squadra) who covered the course in 57-01.

And in Somerset there was a convincing victory for Dean Robson (Somerset Road Club) who won his club’s 10 on Saturday with 20-22.

That time gave him victory by 51 seconds from runner-up Kelvin Price (Northover VT) with Tony Chapman finishing third, just one second slower. Zoe Betteridge (North Devon Wheelers) was best female with 24-37, while the promoting club’s Oscar White was best junior with 24-19.

The Cambridge CC 25 at Stetchworth was shortened to 12.4 miles because of flooding, but it didn’t stop the riders battling for glory – and fastest was Anthony Stapleton (Chelmer CC) who clocked 28-32 to win by 27 seconds.

CC Sudbury’s Jonathan Weatherby was second with 28-59, while James Cook (Shaftesbury CC) was third, another eight seconds back. Mark Bower (GB Cycles) was fastest female with 32-36, 2-20 ahead of the next best woman.