British time trial round-up

Port Sunlight Wheelers’ long distance legend Andy Wilkinson broke his own 24-hour competition record in the 2011 title race, staged in East Sussex over the weekend.

Wilkinson has held the record for the last 14 years after clocking up 525.07 miles in 1997. And while the results are still very much provisional and subject to change, Wilkinson was chalked up at 529.65 miles for the 2011 title race – a figure which many think could be adjusted upwards to nearer 542 miles once the time splits are checked.

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

Wilkinson took the 2011 title race in style, covering at least 12 miles more in the day-long ride than reigning champion John Warnock (Twickenham CC) who had to settle for second spot with a nevertheless impressive 517.41 miles.

The G24/89 course uses circuits from Little Horsford, Henfield and Pevensey before coming on to a finishing circuit to aid timing, and dry and warm conditions led to some impressive distances by those who managed to keep themselves hydrated.

GS Stella’s David Shepherd took third spot with a provisional 475.19 miles, while best of the women was Rye and District’s Bronwen Ewing, who covered 405.72 miles.

Elsewhere, Derek Parkinson won the North Lancashire TTA 100 at Cockermouth in Cumbria on Saturday, clocking 3-37-17 to win by more than 20 minutes on the L1009 course.

Preston CC’s Julian Markham was second with 3-58-04 and was the only other rider to go under four hours, while he was ten minutes quicker than third-placed Jon Evans (Barrow Central Wheelers).

Best of the women was Markham’s team-mate Theresa Taylor (Preston CC) whose time was 4-50-12.

Another Preston CC rider, Matt Moorhouse, also tasted victory last weekend when he won the Otley CC 50-mile event in North Yorkshire.

Moorhouse made his trip over the Penines worthwhile with a time of 1-47-56 to take the win by just nine seconds from Congleton’s Alf Hilton.

Meanwhile, the only Yokshireman on the podium was the promoting club’s Ged Millward, who clocked 1-48-34.

Evergreen Carole Gandy (Kent Cycles RT) was best of the women, clocking 2-08-23, while Team Swift won the team prize despite placing only one rider in the top ten.

There were far more sub-four hour rides in the Eastern Counties CA 100 on Sunday, where the faster E2/100c produced some great rides.

Julian Jenkinson (UTAG secured a good victory with 3-34-41 to win by more than five minutes from PCA Ciclos Uno’s Dean Lubin, while Nicholas English (AW Cycles) was just 33 seconds further back in third spot.

But there was disappointment for the many riders who had entered the Western TTA 100 at Cricklade in Wiltshire.

Thick fog caused organisers to cancel the event on safety grounds, and with several hours until the mist eventually lifted, their decision appeared justified.

Over shorter distances, there was a good victory for the Science in team in the Warrington Road Club four-up team time trial in Cheshire.

Adam Duggleby, Felix English, Alex Royle and Alistair Rutherford clocked 50-25 for the Goostrey course to win by almost two minutes, from Maxgear RT, for whom Dean Hitchen, Andy Tinsley, Tony and Wayne Greenhalgh were riding.

Sri Chinmoy CT rider Tejvan Pettinger recorded one and a half victories last weekend – winning the Hemel Hempstead CC 25 on Sunday and tying for victory in the Newbury Road Club 10 on Saturday.

He tied with Mark Jones (Oxford City RC) in the Newbury 10 on the H10/1 course at Padworth in Berkshire, clocking 20-25 to push Jon Simpkins ( into third by just two seconds.

And then 24 hours later, Pettinger won the Hemel Hempstead CC 25 at Launton in Oxfordshire by just four seconds, his time of 54-00 pushing Danny Axford (Arctic Premier RT) into second.

There was also a tie in the Hertfordshire Wheelers 10 at Great Amwell, with Nik Bowdler (Team Pedal and Luke Clark (Team Milton Keynes) both clocking 20-08, while just two seconds further back was Bowdler’s team-mate Nino Piccoli in third.

Related links
Cycling Weekly’s time trial news section
British time trial preview (June 25-26)


Parker International banner