Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race 2020: everything you need to know

The Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race takes place on Sunday February 2 2020. Here's the 'all you need to know' on the Australian single-day WorldTour race

The 2019 WorldTour continues with the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race in Australia on Sunday, February 2.

The men’s race was given WorldTour status for 2017, and this honour has been continued ever since – with a host of top WorldTour teams due to ride.

There’s also a women’s race, on Saturday, Feburary 1, part of the UCI Women’s WorldTour.

In 2019, the men’s win went to Elia Viviani (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) took victory ahead of home favourite Caleb Ewan (Lotto-Soudal) and Tour Down Under winner Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott).

The women’s race went to Arlenis Sierra (Astana) ahead of Australians Lucy Kennedy and Amanda Spratt (Mitchelton-Scott).

The men’s race covers 171 kilometres, starting and finishing at the Geelong Waterfront on Sunday February 2. The women’s race covers 121km – with the same start and finish location.

Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race 2019

Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race 2020 – men’s route

The race passes through Barwon Heads – the home town of 2011 Tour de France winner Cadel Evans – and includes flat but windy, exposed roads, undulating climbs and technical sections, as well as the testing slopes of the Challambra climb.

2018 was the first that the women’s race crested the Challambra climb, and the men’s course saw riders ascend the climb four times. The finish at the Waterfront is fast – but the sprinters have to make it to the line with the peloton.

Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race 2019

Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race 2020 – women’s route

Designed by former pro rider Scott Sunderland, in consultation with Evans, the courses aim to create an attacking heavy race, inspired by the European ‘Spring Classics’ – but in a warmer climate.

TV listings are yet to be confirmed, but we’ll update this page as details are revealed.

A few teams have announced their squads so we have added ‘confirmed’ next to the team name where the line-up is official.

We will continue to update this page as teams announce their riders.

Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race 2020 Start list