Rémi Cavagna's long-range attack wins Tour of California 2019 stage three

Deceuninck-Quick-Step rider Rémi Cavagna attacked 67km from the finish to win stage three of the Tour of California

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Rémi Cavagna won stage three of the 2019 Tour of California after an impressive breakaway effort.

The Deceuninck-Quick-Step rider was part of a two-man breakaway with Alex Hoehn (United States), and the Frenchman distanced his companion on the toughest climb of the day.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Chris Marshall-Bell

A freelance sports journalist and podcaster, you'll mostly find Chris's byline attached to news scoops, profile interviews and feature writing across a variety of different publications. He has been writing regularly for Cycling Weekly since 2013.

Previously a ski, hiking and cycling guide in a number of places, but mostly in the Canadian Rockies and Spanish Pyrenees, he almost certainly holds the record for the most number of interviews conducted from snowy mountains.

He lives in Valencia, Spain.