Dylan Van Baarle takes final stage as Jakob Fuglsang wins the Critérium du Dauphiné 2019

Fuglsang finished 20 seconds ahead of Tejay van Garderen

Jakob Fuglsang wins the Critérium du Dauphiné 2019 (Anne-Christine Poujoulat/AFP/Getty Images)

(Image credit: AFP/Getty Images)

Dylan van Baarle (Ineos) took the stage eight win as Jakob Fuglsang (Astana) secured the overall victory at the Critérium du Dauphiné 2019.

Van Baarle beat Jack Haig (Mitchelton-Scott) after the two had attacked in the closing kilometres of the race, the Dutchman taking his first ever win from a sprint.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Hi. I'm Cycling Weekly's Weekend Editor. I like writing offbeat features and eating too much bread when working out on the road at bike races.

Before joining Cycling Weekly I worked at The Tab and I've also written for Vice, Time Out, and worked freelance for The Telegraph (I know, but I needed the money at the time so let me live).

I also worked for ITV Cycling between 2011-2018 on their Tour de France and Vuelta a España coverage. Sometimes I'd be helping the producers make the programme and other times I'd be getting the lunches. Just in case you were wondering - Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwen had the same ham sandwich every day, it was great.