Enric Mas loses race lead after final km puncture as Stefan Küng wins stage four time trial at Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana 2021

The fight for the overall lead was going down to the wire before the Spanish rider punctured in the final kilometre

Enric Mas (Eurosport/GCN)

Stefan Küng's time trial prowess saw him assume the overall lead at the Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana, winning the penultimate stage four ahead of tomorrow's run-in to Valencia.

The Swiss rider finished the 14.3km-long course nearly 11 seconds faster than second-place Nelson Oliveira (Movistar), with Arkéa-Samsic's Thibault Guernalec rounding out the podium places, a further 28 seconds adrift.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Hi. I'm Cycling Weekly's Weekend Editor. I like writing offbeat features and eating too much bread when working out on the road at bike races.

Before joining Cycling Weekly I worked at The Tab and I've also written for Vice, Time Out, and worked freelance for The Telegraph (I know, but I needed the money at the time so let me live).

I also worked for ITV Cycling between 2011-2018 on their Tour de France and Vuelta a España coverage. Sometimes I'd be helping the producers make the programme and other times I'd be getting the lunches. Just in case you were wondering - Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwen had the same ham sandwich every day, it was great.